Kanye did it again…

So Kanye did it again. He felt that injustice was served at a music awards show, and felt it necessary to express as much. Abruptly express as much. Ignorantly express as much. He put on his best asshole suit, jumped onstage, and interrupted Taylor “Country? Really?” Swift, mid-speech to declare that Beyonce deserved Swift’s award. He stated that Beyonce had one of the best music videos for a female artist of ALL TIME. (Not sure about that one, Mr. West) Was Kanye wrong? Absolutely. Even though I could care less about the VMAs, an honor bestowed is an honor bestowed, no matter the venue or accomplishment. I don’t listen to Taylor Swift or country music, but if voters felt she deserved the award, so be it. In no way, shape, or form do I condone Kanye’s actions. However… WHY ARE PEOPLE MAKING SUCH A BIG DEAL OUT OF THIS?!?!?! If he’d interrupted Marrti Ahtisaari, Al Gore, or Wangari Maathai(recent Nobel Peace Prize Laureates)during their acceptance speeches, I’d understand most of the outrage. If he’d interrupted the president of the US, I’d understand. If he interrupted the traffic flow on a major street to do an unnecessary show, I’d understand. But he interrupted a teeny-bopper country artist at a teeny-bopper awards show. There are more pressing issues to be concerned over. Healthcare reform, education, violence, and racism are some, just to name a few. To see tweets on Twitter, receive text messages, and get calls from people who were so repulsed by yet ANOTHER Kanye outburst baffled, and still baffles me. Are we so consumed by a meaningless awards show that we fail to see what’s really important? If this is the worst of Kanye, I’ll gladly take it. I’d much rather think of him as an egotistical, whiny, spoiled brat than a drug or domestic abuser, or person who purchases an arsenal of weapons to “protect himself”. Kanye is an artist, and I don’t look to him to set a certain moral standard to which I should live by. Again, what he did last night was ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE, but he’s been that way for years. College Dropout, “Get ‘Em High”: “Why you think me and Dame cool?/We assholes…” I’m just saying… P.S. I miss Karen!!! P.P.S. #shoutout to everyone that digs Kanye the artist, and not the person, my lil brah, Adam(The Baby-Faced Cereal Killer), Tiara in her tiara, Tiff “Sneakers!!!” Fowler, and my D.C. doll(the REAL Pepper Ann aka my Charleston Chew aka Jessica Rabbit aka my favorite drug aka my favorite nerd aka #myfuturewife)…


Leave a Reply

