We do it for the strong, we do it for the meek…

I received the best compliment since “Hope Diamond” earlier today. “You’re so…hip-hop.” It kind of caught me off guard, because she (LJ) said it so sincerely, and so sweetly. As if to say, “Word.” Acknowledging that I’m just doing me. True, I am a backpacker, but I’m not afraid to let it be known that I dig Coldplay, Daft Punk, and Radiohead, too. I’ll play “The Anthology” right after “Kid A”. I play “Revolution 909” at least a handful of times a day. Still, I play the shit out of Consequence’s (@itsthecons) “A Tribe Called Quence” mixtape, and can’t help but at least listen to the instrumental version of Nicolay (@nicolaymusic) and Kay’s “Tight Eyes”. I have an appreciation for the Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Metallica, Coldplay, Radiohead, Daft Punk, Jim Morrison, Bob Dylan, Animal Collective, Simon & Garfunkel, Bon Jovi, Wes Montgomery, Roberta Flack, Frank Sinatra, Sade, and the like, too. Of those artists or groups that I just mentioned, I doubt I would’ve become a fan of most of them had I not gone away to school, to the vanilla flavor that is Michigan. Seriously, going from a high school that is predominantly black to two universities with a large white population exposed me to a lot of “different” things. Truthfully, if I hadn’t gone away to school, I might not have the same views that I have now. I think I’m better for that. In my opinion, that’s what “hip-hop” is. Having the ability to be open-minded and absorb as much as you possibly can. I can’t say that at 14 I thought I’d ever listen to artists like Adele and Bird and the Bee. 10 years later, I have both of their albums, and they both are part of the rotation. I have friends who “rock out” to Bloc Party. I mean…seriously rock the fuck out. And you know what? That’s dope! I’m familiar with glow sticks, techno music and dance clubs. Don’t get it twisted though, please, ladies and gentlemen. I’m still up on The Purple Tape, IMD, Tribe, Prodigy, Talib, Hi-Tek, Blackstar, Main Source, Lauryn Hill, Foxy Brown, Little Brother, Slum Village, J Dilla, Big L, 9th Wonder, DJ Premier, DJ Quik, MC Eight, and just about anybody who has even remotely contributed (in a positive way) to the genre. I just believe that hip-hop was meant to evolve. I don’t think it was meant to remain stagnant. It was meant to go global, and touch more than just poor inner-city youth in the US. I hope that like sports, hip-hop has no preference in who participates in the near future. It has become something that has forced many heads like myself to actually listen to the songs that have been sampled. And this has caused people like myself to develop an affinity for those older artists, which in turn helps bridge the generation gap. Even if the repair is brought on moreso because of music, so be it. Every little bit helps, in our community. THAT is what hip-hop is about. It’s a fucking movement. What other genre of music can you think of that has such a global appeal? Little Brother can book a show at London tonight, and sell out. Wu-Tang could do the same anywhere in Asia, most likely. THAT is what keeps me optimistic about the state of hip-hop. Can’t you feel The L.O.V.E.? P.S. I miss Karen!!! P.P.S. #shoutout to #myfavoritenerd, Adina G aka Ms. Jager, little brah, and my Michigan clan…


One comment

  1. You are so right. Hip-hop has more of a global appeal than any other music genre, which is why I love it so much. When I was in Tokyo, I heard Tribe and Dilla in nightclubs, and I never wanted to leave.


Leave a Reply

