I guess John Mayer has your attention now…

John, you got some splainin' to do!!!

I’m going to assume that unless you don’t have a Twitter or Facebook page, tv, access to the internet, or friends, you’ve heard of John Mayer’s interview with Playboy. In it he made a few controversial comments. He revealed that he was a zit-faced, insecure teenager. When he was 19, 20 years old, he was very arrogant, actually refusing to give demos to record label presidents. He prefers to masturbate to thoughts of ex-girlfriends and not going out, meeting someone new, and having sex with her. He called a hood pass a “nigger pass”. And the doozy: He believes that his penis is a white supremacist. “I don’t think I open myself to it [dating Black women]. My dick is sort of like a white supremacist. I’ve got a Benetton heart and a fuckin’ David Duke cock. I’m going to start dating separately from my dick.” That did it for a good number of Black people, especially Black women on Twitter. Here are a few tweets (names left out):

So apparently John Mayer gets an erection when he sees a lynching.

Black women are too much for john mayer anyways, he would come home to get his head bashed in with his guitar fucking wit a sister

John Mayer saying he wouldn’t have sex w/ a black women.. I can’t wait til’ the day a rich black man say they wldnt sleep w./ a white women.

John Mayer is honestly one of those over confident punk ass white boys that I always so desperately wanna smack in the face

Fortunately, a good number of Black people didn’t see his comments as racist, just moronic. After all, we ALL have preferences. I know I don’t find myself attracted to women that are grossly overweight, and of course, stupid and ignorant. That’s my personal preference. Some men actually prefer women that are seriously overweight, and then there are some that want women that lack intelligence. I’ve heard from more than a few Black women that they’re not attracted to White men (even my girlfriend has confessed that her mother told her not to bring home a White man unless he’s rich, which is horrible), so I’m not completely sure what all the fuss was about.

Could Mayer have worded his choice of women differently? Of course, he would’ve made the situation better by carefully choosing his words. But he does have a reputation as an asshole, and he seems to fully embrace it. It’s why some people are fans of his, because he doesn’t take himself very seriously. I wasn’t totally shocked at most of his comments, but I do have a few questions, though.

Did anyone find this comment troubling?: “I am a very…I’m just very. V-E-R-Y. And if you can’t handle very, then I’m a douche bag. But I think the world needs a little very. That’s why black people love me.” Now, I have always been a very good reader. Not just because I could pronounce large words at a very young age, but because I could read passages and actually comprehend what I had just read. I understood that “Mayerism” as: “I’m an asshole, and I can be a little too much at times. If you don’t get that, just call me ignorant. But the world needs a little ignorance. And that, is why I have so many Black fans.” I initially read an excerpt of his interview, containing 10 of the more controversial Mayerisms. When I saw this one, I have to say that I was appalled. I’m going to go out on a limb and say that the average Black person isn’t a fan of John Mayer (although a good number of Whites, Hispanics, Asians, etc aren’t either). The ones that are fans are often considered “uppity” “bourgeois”, or they’re often said to be (my personal favorite) “acting White”. I am a John Mayer fan. I think “Continuum” is dope and liked “Heavier Things” after hearing it a few times. Mayer is an excellent guitarist, but not the greatest songwriter and singer. I compare his comment to one a former friend (Black) of mine made about the lack of Black baseball fans. “Blacks don’t watch baseball because it’s not flashy enough. If there were more players that did wild and crazy shit, more Blacks would watch.” Again, he is a former friend.

Why wasn’t more made of his comment that a hood pass is basically a nigger pass? First, I want to say that I don’t think he was calling Blacks niggers. I believe that he was insinuating that he didn’t understand how he could get a hood pass when he’s never experienced some of the hardships that so many Blacks have. Moving on… I, for one, don’t equivocate hood to black, and I think it’s safe to say that despite the proper definition, when most of us hear the word “nigger” we immediately think of ignorant Black people, which would explain the outrage among Black people. I think hood has to do more with an urban upbringing and attitude. Black people aren’t the only ones that grow up in urban areas, use urban dialect, and carry themselves in an urban way. I have White, Hispanic, European, and Asian friends that I consider hood, or urban. Not because I feel they’re “acting black” but because of their mannerisms, the way they dress, and some of the things that they’re interested in. When Mayer stated, “I can’t really have a hood pass. I’ve never walked into a restaurant, asked for a table and been told, ‘We’re full.’”, I had to think of my experiences in various restaurants in which I felt I was wrongly treated. I’ve never seen empty tables and been told that there was no seating available because I’m Black. To be honest, I’ve been kicked out of (and banned from several) establishments when I was with White friends, and that was because we were unruly, and abused our rights as patrons. I’m not saying that this doesn’t happen to Blacks; being told a blatant lie. However, it’s not the “typical Black experience”, regardless of what some Blacks may say.

Black women, did you even notice that Mayer spoke about a stereotype of White women that, unfortunately, many Black people share with him? “And Kerry Washington. She’s superhot, and she’s also white-girl crazy. Kerry Washington would break your heart like a white girl. Just all of a sudden she’d be like, “Yeah, I sucked his dick. Whatever.” And you’d be like, “What? We weren’t talking about that.” During my first year of college, I had a White girlfriend. I didn’t catch flack from anyone but Black people for it (even though I’m sure there were a few White people who weren’t too fond of our relationship). Some of my Black friends would tell me things  like “Man, you better not do her wrong. White chicks are crazy.” or “There’s something wrong with White girls in the head”. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what they were talking about. Sure, she was a little crazy. But I also was with a Black, English, and Greek girl who I would’ve suggested some sort of counseling to. Ask enough Black people about their opinions of White women, however, and you’re pretty likely to hear something like what Mayer and my “friends” said: White women are a different kind of crazy. I’m not for stereotypes of anyone. I don’t think they’re funny, and I think it’s wrong that Blacks tend to ignore stereotypes about people besides themselves. It seemed that some Black women were so consumed by the fact that John Mayer isn’t attracted to them (kind of a contradiction when he started naming Black women that he found attractive, like Hillary Banks from “Fresh Prince of Bel-Air”) that they didn’t even realize that he put down White women, who share some of the same struggles in society that they do. I won’t even write about my love of Kerry Washington, and the fact that I lost a little bit of respect for Mayer because he dissed her.

I find it very alarming that on various social networking sites and blogs, Blacks were in an uproar about Mayer’s interview. Where the hell was all of this disgust when R. Kelly was on trial for not only urinating on, but having sex with an underage girl? Why were there so many outside of the courtroom with “Free Robert” and “R. Kelly Is Innocent” signs? If that girl in the tape (regardless of whether it was consensual or not) were your sister, cousin, niece, or daughter, would you still have rallied behind him? The fact that a Black man degraded a young Black woman should’ve made him more enemies, but it seems that he gained even more fan support because of the case. I hear from people who say they’re sad that Lil’ Wayne will be sent to prison. Praying for TI, Gucci Mane, and Lil’ Boosie’s safety. People tweeting that they hope Waka Flocka gets better after being shot, but not taking the time to acknowledge the death and destruction in Haiti. Worried about the beef between Beanie Sigel and Jay-Z (which I don’t buy for one second), but seemingly oblivious to the fact that the US is at war in Iraq and Afghanistan, losing brave soldiers everyday. That saddens me way more than Mayer’s interview with…wait for it…Playboy. I doubt that if Newsweek or TIME were interviewing Mayer, he would’ve answered those questions in that way. And if you’re remotely familiar with Mayer the man and not the musician, you’d know that most of what he does and says is for shock value. That doesn’t excuse his stupidity and ignorance, but this isn’t the first time that he’s put his foot in his mouth.

Did Mayer say anything racist? In my opinion, no. Obviously there were people that misconstrued his comments as racist. As a celebrity, he should understand that everything he says and does will be scrutinized heavily, which I think is absolute bullshit. I’m pretty sure some of the Black women that were upset about his comments aren’t attracted to White men themselves, which slightly reeks of hypocrisy. In a country with a shaky federal government, unemployment at an all-time high, children having children, sickness, obesity, racial gentrification, too many of us (speaking mostly to Blacks now) choose to use our voices to opine about how offended we are that John Mayer chooses not to get his rocks off with Black women. Two words, one question: WHO CARES???

P.S. I miss Karen!!!

P.P.S. Leave Kerry alone, John, or you’ll lose your biggest fan on the south side of Chicago, capeesh?


2 comments

  1. LOVE. THIS. POST. You always touch on things that I don’t think of. I didn’t even think of his stereotype of white women, and it’s sad, because that is a stereotype of white women. That, and they’re super fucking easy, which I think is ignorant and loads of bullshit. I thought John Mayer was a douchebag long before his Playboy interview, and my opinion of him hasn’t really changed that much, to tell you the truth. I think he said most of what he said because he knew it would be published in Playboy. I’d like to say he was asked loaded questions, but then again, just because the gun is loaded, doesn’t mean you have to pull the trigger.

    • You have a point when you say that he was possibly asked loaded questions. A lot of interviewers will tell you that questions shouldn’t be based on a certain topic, but rather on the person being interviewed. Playboy is not known for being conservative (obviously), and you’d better believe that interviewer knew that he was going to get something juicy, even if it was offensive, out of Mayer’s mouth.


Leave a Reply

