Aside

There is an indescribable beauty about living in the moment.

There are so many things which would be much more enjoyed had I not spent every moment updating my twitter or facebook status through them. I have spent many a night, at a party, club, bar, dinner w/ friends, etc. tweeting the entire time. I thought I was enjoying myself. I wasn’t though; I was missing much of the time focusing on tweeting what was happening and not participating (and this was even before my smartphone era [blackberry, bitch!] ). I remember asking every few seconds, barely peering over my phone, “what happened?” Or giving vague responses to statements which I totally missed due to me being completely enthralled in whatever was going on in the cyber/text world of my phone.

Social networking sites are a blessing and a curse. They keep us completely entertained, but they can sometimes cause us to lose focus of what’s truly important… Such as focusing on the present.

Americans spend, on average, about 3 and a half hours online per day (that totals to more than an entire day per week spent online).  Social networking sites account for over 1/3 of this time, but this doesn’t take into account the countless amount of time we spend using our phones for texting and talking and such. Basically, we do a lot of distracting shit.

I have heard of two instances within the past year of mothers who allowed facebook games to come in between them and their children’s well-being (one mother murdered her child and another left her child to drown, both while distracted by facebook games). While these instances are a bit extreme, I do not doubt that we have all neglected to focus on situations that were much more important than we allowed for because we spent more time socializing online than on important moments.

There is an atypical (read: not-as-corny-as-usual) Adam Sandler movie entitled “click” in which he (as the main character) gains access to a remote which allows him to fast forward past any moments in his life that he’d rather just skip (the remote cannot rewind, though). The problem comes in that the remote has memory, and he loses many moments of his life due to the remote’s memory of the moments of which he chose to skip. By the end, the protagonist has lost every important moment of his life because the remote fast forwarded past them all.

We, similarly, miss many moments by using our phones and the internet as our “remotes”. I suggest that we put the phones down, and live in the moment.

I tweet now only when bored, not when I’m enjoying time with a friend or out in the club or sitting on a park bench enjoying my day. Just sometimes. And at other times, I don’t tweet, text, or use my phone at all. It’s so freeing to not be preoccupied. I miss so fewer situations, and I just enjoy life.

As a reformed tweet-(and facebook)-all-the-fucking-time-er, I suggest you put the smartphones, laptops, netbooks, tablets and other distracting bullshit down and just fucking live.

unplugged: just fucking live.


One comment

  1. word. completely agree. the fact that children have died due to parental negligence is always bad. The face that it was for farmville, mafia wars or some other ridiculous game on facebook is a f***ing shame. I mean really, they arent even decent games.

    dope post.


Leave a Reply

